top of page
Search

Anxiety: What It Is, How It Affects Teens, and How To Cope With It


@doodlesbydolly



This week we decided to do an interview with @nolynbrooke in honor of Mental Health Awareness Month. We dived into anxiety: what it is, how it affects teens, and how to cope with it. We hope that this interview can help shed some light on the reality of living with anxiety and also give you hope, that things do get better!


1. What is teen anxiety?


Anxiety is the intense, excessive, and persistent worry and fear about everyday situations. It’s when you can’t control your emotions and it becomes a lot for you to handle.


2. How is teen anxiety an issue in our society?


Anxiety makes it hard for many teens to go out and do things because they are fearful. Anxiety can make being in a room full of strangers feel like a life or death situation.


3. Why is anxiety a big deal?

Anxiety causes people to turn away from trying new things, and makes it harder for people to stop overthinking certain situations.


4. Can you tell us about your experience with anxiety as a teen?

My anxiety started during my freshman year and it caused me to watch people carefully and  overthink every time I got into a car or went out in public. I was always so nervous something would happen and I wouldn’t know how to react to it. I would pick my nails, twirl my hair, and just watch everything happening around me, instead of living. I lived in fear for so long because I was so anxious about something bad happening.


5. How does one cope with anxiety?

There are many different ways and some may be more beneficial than others, it truly depends on the person and the severity of your anxiety. Some people take medicine, some go to therapy. For me, it was a change of mindset. I had to realize that if I was scared of everything and didn’t live my life, I would never be able to go out and truly enjoy it. I had to realize there was more to life than the fear of something traumatic happening.


6. Can anxiety be treated?

Anxiety can definitely be treated. There’s always an option for everyone. It may be more difficult for some, and your anxiety can always come back. It’s choosing how you deal with it that affects how you see it.


Thank you @nolynbrooke for taking the time to answer these questions and thank you all for reading! I hope this helped you feel less alone if you’re struggling with anxiety or helped you understand more about what someone you know and love may be going through!





Written and Edited By: Myrdell C.

Interviewed: Nolan Brooke

Art Credit: @doodlesbydolly

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page